Finally: Pictures form the Royal Melbourne Show and something new.

Hi Everyone,

Here are some pictures of my entry being displayed at the Royal Melbourne Show this year. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here is a picture of something I am playing around with at the moment. I have posted it on the ‘intatters forum’ to see if it is a technique people know about and if it has a name. It makes really pretty frilly rings by using a double thread around the hand when making rings. 

 

The first one I did in yellow, and it looks nice. The second one I used blue to show that two threads are used and flipped when picots and DS are made.  I wonder if I could use three threads?

Anyway, please feel free to comment and let me know if this technique has a name. I would love to see some patterns using this and will try over the Christmas holiday season to come up with a pattern to highlight these frilly rings.

As always, happy tatting

Fiona T

5 Comments

Filed under Tatting News, Tatting Techniques

5 responses to “Finally: Pictures form the Royal Melbourne Show and something new.

  1. I think this is the way that many people use when running two or three threads together – as with fine sewing threads or a filament. I don’t think it’s got a specific name. If you look at the top picture on this page http://tinyurl.com/yd7n7f5 you will see that the picots have three threads in them. Here’s another one too http://tinyurl.com/6hnz6va Tiny flowers look very pretty worked with several fine threads.

    • Thanks for that Jane. I am so excited that you have stopped by AND made a comment, I have been frequenting your blog and FB page for a while now. I have found a couple of tutorials online since posting this blog and see that it is used by some as a ‘core thread’ then they can change colours etc easily without tying threads. Very exciting, there is still so much to learn about this craft 🙂

  2. Jenni

    Hi Fiona,
    Love your show work and congratulations on your prize.

    As for your technique – I haven’t see it but it looks pretty stunning and I can think of a few good uses for it!

    See ya,
    Jenni (Liyarra)

  3. Pingback: Tips for show entries…things I have learned. « One Mad Tatter

  4. Pingback: What project size suits you? « One Mad Tatter

Leave a Reply

