A Small Doily

While spending most of my time working on my show project, I have taken a little sideline to try some other patterns in my growing collection of pattern books.

I thought Lyn Morton’s  “Lisa pattern” (Page 51 of Tatting Patterns, published 2002) would look lovely in purple and my new green Lisbeth (size 40) thread, so I tried it and have made a small doily. As with most of my tatting, it will become a gift for a friend, and I am pretty sure she will love the colours too!

Doily

This is a great beginners patten as it is only one ring and the rest is chains and joins…it does take a bit of concentration to join the flowers correctly as you go, but the visual effect is well worth the effort. I used 2 shuttles here, instead of a ball thread as directed in the pattern, that is what allowed me to switch the chain colours for the second chain. Also in the picture are my EmsyJane shuttles, that make slip and slide tatting a dream.

What side projects have caught your eye lately?

Happy tatting

Fiona T

1 Comment

Filed under Eye Candy, Patterns

One response to “A Small Doily

  1. Pingback: Tatted Challenge Part 2 « One Mad Tatter

Leave a Reply

