Re-learning split chains

I decided to make this pretty doily for my sister, from the Anchor “learn to tat” book.

image

It is not the normal round shape, which I find appealing. It is also pretty simple rings and chains, but I have been putting off making it as there are so many “cut and tie” endings to each row (17 rows in all). I thought it would be a good opportunity to relearn split chains (my only previous attempt of these have been for the tardis pattern). So I have been watching  ‘top tatty head’ (Linda Davies you tube) and practising the split chain to climb poor of the last couple of rows. I am pleased to report I am getting better at them and can almost do them without the video by my side! I do have to think through each row, as I am starting at a slightly different point to the instructions, but so far so good.
Until next time, happy tatting.
Fiona T

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Re-learning split chains

  1. Hi Fiona

    Lovely pattern and will look lovely in those colours.
    I looked up the pattern, which was the first thing I tatted when I learnt to tat, many many years ago, I was then a small book back in the early 70’s by anchor. I still have my doily not used anymore but kept in the draw. I was going to re tat this pattern and it’s on the “to do list” originally it was done in 17 rounds, but I see by the picture they have re written the pattern.
    I look forward to seeing your doily when it’s finished.
    Margaret

    • I would love to see a picture of your doily Margaret, perhaps on intatters or craftree? I have the 1990 reprint of the book, but the doily it’s still in 17 rows, I am improvising to avoid sewing in ends (I think I am allergic to sewing in ends lol). Thanks, as always, for your encouragement. I must set this up on craftree as a project.

Leave a Reply

