Tatting miscount leads to tatting disaster…

I am working on a second doily for my sister, using the Anchor no. 20 doily pattern. I have cut away a couple of rounds as I seem to get complacent in working it this time. When I was getting to the final rows I felt like it was taking forever! Now I know why… I think the last row in green was miscounted, leading to too many purple rings…and resulting in eight sides on this doily instead of six. Yep- it’s a tatting disaster! πŸ™‚

image

I hoped that blocking it may help, but it really hasn’t. So, now I need your advice please. Do I cut away to the purple row, and figure out the right count to keep this six sided? Do I cut away the green row too (as I was ‘clever’ and used continuous thread method and split chains to climb out of rows) ? Do I claim this as a frilly, one of a kind, eight sided doily, and start a new one for my sister, over again?
At any rate, I think I will put this aside for now and work on something from my new books. Looking forward to your advice.
Until next time, happy tatting.
Fiona T

9 Comments

Filed under Eye Candy, Patterns, Tatting Techniques

9 responses to “Tatting miscount leads to tatting disaster…

  1. I don’t know about the finer points of tatting but I think it looks pretty with the waves.
    Ultimately it’s what you are going to be happy with.
    So I guess no help at all!

    • Thanks Marina,
      Maybe my sister will like it any way. It just won’t match the earlier one I made. I remember this is why I don’t make collars either…it is hard to get tension etc to match on two pieces. πŸ™‚

  2. Kathleen J. Minniti

    I think it is too pretty to throw away or cut up, so I would add another made-up row to continue the frilly effect and claim that “I meant to do that!” I also would set it aside for a bit, then start completely fresh to make the intended doily after doing something else unrelated. That will help you “forget” the pattern and force you to read it again, which might then help avoid the errors.
    *Kathleen J Minniti _________________________________________________________One must dare to love herself, however frightening or strange that self may prove to be.*

    • Yep, did other projects last night. I wondered about another row or two. Perhaps that is an idea to follow up… I certainly can’t make it worse! Lol. Thanks Kathleen πŸ™‚

  3. Shelly

    Oh so sorry. I’ve done that in the past too. I think you can just cut away the purple and maybe just back to the point where it begins to ruffle. Four sides look to be the correct count.

  4. Well, all your options involve some pain! I’d vote for continuing with the doily and figuring out what adaptations would make it work. The side benefit is that you’ll learn something new!

  5. Pingback: Doilies gifted- and amazing plates. | One Mad Tatter

Leave a Reply

