An UnFinished Object finished.

This pattern was kindly donated by lacemaker mom, on etsy, for my last giveaway. I began to tat it in March, and then put it aside as a new book had arrived. I picked it up occasionally, working on the pretty edging. I found it again a few weeks ago, and worked on it while at a café with a friend….unfortunately when I got home I realised I had made 2 errors on joins. These errors meant the final repeat would not join without scrunching up the finished doily.

image

Before the ‘café incident’.

image

After the ‘café incident’…
So I had to cut away a big section:

image

And rejoin.
With a bit of careful calculation I completed the last 2 pattern repeats without error. I did think the edge needed more green, so I ran a simple chain around the outside, mirroring the green on the inside row. This technique is adapted from “New Tatting” by Tomoko Morimoto- she uses this simple chain with great effect.

image

I still need to block this, but I think it looks quite pretty.
The facebook page is up to just over 250 likers…so I will soon have a craft giveaway. Details soon!
Have you got a UFO on your radar to finish? Share below!
Until next time, happy tatting.
Fiona T

2 Comments

Filed under Eye Candy, Patterns, Uncategorized

2 responses to “An UnFinished Object finished.

  1. Barbara G

    The doily turned out just gorgeous..!! Great job…

Leave a Reply

