A great idea from aKNITomy- Knitted dissection kits.

Those of you have have followed me for a while have probably realised I am a bit of a geek- kind of a prerequisite for a Biology Teacher šŸ™‚ Recently, while marking an assignment where a number of students chose to reflect on the use of dissections in Biology, I began to consider a wider range of alternatives to the usual plastic model, virtual model and physical dissection. Crafting my passion is not new- and I was super excited this year to be a very small part of the Neural Knitworks effort for Science week this year. I recalled finding this ‘knitted dissection’ through a pintrest or twitter search (I can’t remember which now) earlier this semester- the Knitted Rat dissection kit, from aKNITomy at etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/aKNITomy?ref=listing-shop-header-item-count. As I wanted to buy two and combine postage, the shop owner made up a listing for me, I purchased them, and they arrived safely in Australia last week. They come with instructions/patterns, the wool to make them, and all the felted organ pieces. The attention to detail is fabulous. I really like this idea- having students make or interact with this model would support yet another sensory experience – without the ‘ick’ factor for some students.

image

aKNITomy dissection kits

I can barely wait to start these, and I hope to use the finished models with my classes in 2015. I will keep you all posted on the progress as it happens šŸ™‚

As always, happy crafting

Fiona T

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Crochet and other craft, Eye Candy, Patterns

Leave a Reply

