Finished and Blocked- Space Dyed Doily

Ok- so it took me a little longer than a week to complete the final round of the ‘Space dyed doily’ I was doing in Purple shades, from Morimoto’s wonderful ‘New Tatting’ book. I did make a couple of errors joining the final motif.  I followed the visual diagram in the pattern, but got my self twisted and knotted, and unable to make the final join neatly. I cut away the motif and left the project for a couple of days (that was while I got distracted with my Milward shuttle). When I returned to the doily I re-thought how the joins might be easier for me to complete, and made the joins in a slightly different order to that described in the pattern- it came out looking fine 🙂 and then, as always, the home stretch was much quicker to complete this doily.

morimoto doily finished 2014

This was made in size 40 Lizbeth threads- a mauve shade and Scottish Thistle. I would like to make this again, in solid colours, as I think it will be very pretty. As with all the patterns in Morimoto’s books, the pattern is simple, yet the use of colour is striking. It is a book I think I will come back to again and again 🙂

Until next time, Happy Tatting

Fiona T

Leave a comment

Filed under Eye Candy, Patterns

Leave a Reply

