Jan Stawasz book- a first for my collection

image

I have been looking for these books for a while, and found them from a Polish supplier on Ebay. As I didn’t have any books/patterns by Jan, I decided to splurge on this book and it arrived just before Christmas.  Jan’s work is amazing- using simple elements to make eye catching designs. Each pattern seems to be very bold- and I have realised that he used size 10 thread for most items. The majority of my thread stash is size 40- so my work of his designs will be smaller. I think these would look lovely made from some of my Altin Basak solid coloured size 40 threads. I might just start one after the new year – it would be nice to have a big project that will span 2015 I think.

Happy New Year to all of you, and best wishes for a great crafting year for 2015.

Happy Crafting

Fiona T

6 Comments

Filed under Eye Candy, Patterns, Tatting Techniques, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Jan Stawasz book- a first for my collection

  1. Barbara G

    So glad you got one of his books. I bought mine, both of his books, quite a while ago now and I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t made any of his designs yet, I have spent a good deal of time looking through them however. I myself wouldn’t even make them in size 10 thread. I love the finer threads and that is all that I would use. I was so inspired when I had heard about his books as I am half Polish and I think that made me a bit more interested along with just seeing the pictures on the cover.
    After you make one of his designs I would sure like to hear how you liked making it, and how yours turns out with that size thread.

  2. I hope you enjoy your book, I have both books although I have one tatted. Couple of designs from the other book, hopefully this year I will have time to do more.
    Happy new year to you and your family
    Margaret

  3. Pingback: Starting some new doilies. | One Mad Tatter

Leave a Reply

