Metal boye shuttle and Doily -EBay find

image

I was excited a few weeks ago to come across this on EBay, a metal shuttle, thread and a mostly made doily for AUS$5. I couldn’t resist and bought it! When it arrived I was excited to see that the shuttle is new, and as it is my first metal shuttle I am quite pleased with it. I haven’t used it yet, but hope to soon. The doily is unfinished, and is the myth pattern I am familiar with and have made a couple of times now. My first thought was to finish it, but the thread sent with the shuttle is not the same as that used for the doily. I am contemplating cutting away the final round so far and using another colour to complete the final round as a contrast. There was also a little butterfly and flower in the package. Quite a bargain for what I paid πŸ™‚ It goes to show that regularly checking sites like EBay can yield some good finds, you really just need to be patient πŸ™‚

Until next time- which will likely be the 500 liker celebration giveaway-

Happy tatting

Fiona T

4 Comments

Filed under Eye Candy

4 responses to “Metal boye shuttle and Doily -EBay find

  1. Barbara G

    Nice catch. I like the color combinations, so to bad that threat isn’t in there. I would do like you said and cut away the unfinished row. I have a couple of the metal shuttles, but for me my fingers turn black from them. I probably have to much acid in my system Hope it works for you. Good price..!

  2. Lucky find, for me the cost of shipping always plays a major role in my online shopping, I don’t mind paying but try to get good value for both purchase and shipping. I too have one metal shuttle, sadly still in the package.

    • Yes Bernice, the cost of shipping is a big factor, and why I now rarely buy from overseas traders on ebay. Within Australia the postage is quite reasonable, but not all ebay sellers are aware of the costs (if they use the ebay autofill it is usually over quoted)- so I usually am quite hesitant πŸ™‚ Your shuttle, Brand New In Packet- will hold it’s value πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

