Finished and blocked- Jan’s doily ll

Two days ago I completed Jan’s doily ll- from his book: Tatting theory and patterns. There have been a few questions about blocking on face book, so here is a picture of the doily that I have just sprayed with water and pinned out to dry- blocked!

image

This doily was a challenge for me. The instructions were a bit different to the traditional patterns I have become used to. It took me far longer to remember the repeats than usual, and so progress was slow and there was a fair bit of retro tatting and cutting away. I do like the colours though, Altin basak blue (no. 343, size 50) and ecru. I doubt I will make this again, but am very glad to be finished it.
I an loking forward to making some smaller items, and perhaps taking part in a tat-along too.
I wonder, what project were you glad to finish?
Until next time, happy tatting
Fiona T

8 Comments

Filed under Eye Candy, Patterns

8 responses to “Finished and blocked- Jan’s doily ll

  1. Beautiful! Love your segmented/block use of colours & that blue shade is delightful. 🙂

    I’ll be glad to finish the Wiosna. Only a tiny bit left for the past month or so, but my heart is no longer in it. However, have recommenced since y’day & plan on completing it before I start anything new.

    I was glad to finish Posting about the curled rings, too. I have enjoyed tatting it Tremendously, but writing, & organizing & photographing & notating took over all my mental space & expended my limited capabilities ;-P

    • Thanks Muskaan, I started it when I was emptying a shuttle from the amusement doily tat along in January 🙂 That was the prompt for the colour choice. Yes- it is sad when projects are too long, and that yearning begins to pull at you to try something different. Your last line has made me laugh, so many of the ‘background’ things in blogging take too much time, the writing is the quick part 🙂

  2. This is quite beautiful! I love your color choices. I made a runner made up of little square motifs (Frivole’s quatrain) and it took me about four years. I was thrilled to be finished but when done, I floundered for quite a while about what do next.

    • Hi Michelle, Wow- four years is a big commitment, and yes the euphoria when you finish is amazing, well done. I remember that ‘floundering’ and so I often have a few projects going at the one time- that way there is always something to keep going with until inspiration hits again.

  3. Barbara G

    I really love your finished piece, and seeing as how blue is my favorite color, your choice is just perfect. I do so love that pattern to. I have been making so many motifs of late that I think it’s time that I make something larger, which I have not done yet. What to make is the problem. I have so many books that right now I just can’t seem to pick one. I will keep thinking on it though.

    • Hi Barbara, Thanks for your lovely comments. I find I go through stages too- of tatting many small things, then wanting to do something larger. Keep looking at those books, or perhaps inspiration will come from one of the tat alongs? I hope you share what you do decide- I would love to see a picture of it 🙂

  4. Beautiful! The colours work so well together.

Leave a Reply

