Holiday Tatting

A couple of weeks ago we were on holiday in Queensland, enjoying the beautiful weather and tourist trail. I took the opportunity to work more on the Mystery Doily, and progressed from round 2 to 6 in the time we were away. Here are some photos of my progress, on the plane and at our accommodation. 2015-06-28 11.13.26_resized  2015-07-02 12.16.42_resized I have been challenging myself by using split chains and split rings to climb out of rows, and reduce the need to cut and tie each round. This was fine, until I ran out of thread on my shuttle with one final ring to complete in round 5.2015-07-04 10.49.05_resized Some quick thinking, and I was able to use the ball thread to make my rings, the Shoe Lace Trick (SLT) to swap between the threads, and the small amount of shuttle thread as the core of the chain. Phew- I made it 🙂

2015-07-04 11.08.37_resizedI am still chipping away at round 6. More progress reports as it is made 🙂

Until next time, Happy Tatting

Fiona T

4 Comments

Filed under Eye Candy, Patterns, Tatting Techniques, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Holiday Tatting

  1. liyarra

    Still you made it!! Next time we meet you will have to teach me split chains!

  2. Barbara G

    Lots of rows always take more time. Someone mentioned split chains. I have only done a split chain once and a long time ago. So, of course I have forgotten how to do it now.

Leave a Reply

