Merry Christmas and a Handkerchief finished

First of all – Merry Christmas and happy holidays!  It was a hot Christmas day today in Melbourne, and I had a lovely day with my family. Best wishes from my family to yours!

It took a couple of extra days than I had anticipated,  but I have just finished this handkerchief edging. Adapted from a Mary Konior pattern “gossip” this pretty but not too frilly edging was started in February 2015. I began by crocheting the edge with the Lizbeth size 80 “country purple lt” thread.  It is the first time I have attached tatting to the crochet edge – partly because I have only recently learned to crochet,  and previously I had tatted edgings directly onto the hanky and linen.  Last Saturday I found this UFO ( Un finished Object) in a bag with another project and decided to try and finish it by Christmas eve. I retro tatted the section I had miscounted, as I really wanted to finish this with continuous thread.  Unfortunately I was more tired than I anticipated this week,  so progress became slow in the evenings after promising progress last Saturday. There is only one join when the shuttle thread ran out on the last quarter of the handkerchief (grrr). Here are photos of the progress and finished item. 

image

image

image

I wonder what you are creating at the moment?  Feel free to share in the comments or on Facebook.
Until next time- happy craftmas! šŸ˜‰
Fiona T

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

