Back to a special doily

Tonight  is the first night in quite a few weeks I have felt awake enough to pick up this ufo I began last year. I adapted the BeStitched leaf bookmark into a doily, and have been very slow to improvise the final rounds to make an edging. Tonight I sat with my plan and forged ahead to complete the first round and have started the second round.  It will need to be blocked, but I hope it will look elegant and modern rather than ruffled… I guess time (and tatting) will tell.

image

If I really don’t like it I will cut it away and try one of the other suggestions from the clever ladies at our tat and chat. Having said that,  I do hope to finish it soon and gift it to one of my lovely sisters. 

This is the first real pattern I have improvised, so am trying to keep notes in case I want to replicate it.  Let’s see how it goes! 
Have you improvised a pattern?
 
Until next time, happy tatting.
Fiona T

2 Comments

Filed under Eye Candy, Patterns

2 responses to “Back to a special doily

  1. Barbara G

    Clever idea. I love the leaf.

  2. Gorgeous! I love the colour combinations.

Leave a Reply

