Star light doily tat along

During March one of the Facebook tatting pages had a tat along using the vintage pattern of the starlight doily.  I had a lovely pale green Altin Basak size 40 thread that seemed perfect for this.  It was lovely to tat,  the pattern was not to complex.  I adapted the first few rounds to be done with continuous thread method (CTM).

image

I was showing it to my best friend on the weekend,  as I had it out drying from being blocked. My friend thought it was lovely enough for a frame.  I agreed, then had a brain wave, this could be made into a clock!  It has 12 points, so would work easily if I added a clock mechanism and mount it.  I have long admired the clocks on pintrest made from upcycled doilies. So another project had been added to my list for crafting.
I wonder when a brain wave has led to an interesting adaptation of a crafty project for you? 
Until next time, happy tatting
Fiona T

6 Comments

Filed under Eye Candy, Patterns

6 responses to “Star light doily tat along

  1. It sounds like a great idea. What are the chances of seeing the clock?

  2. Barbara G

    A great idea Fiona T. It looks really pretty to and being such a light color the hands and everything will stand out nicely. Good luck with it.

  3. Looks fantastic. I’ve seen this done before. I would do this.

Leave a Reply

