Knitting with the magic loop method

A few weeks ago I took a craft lesson on how to knit cable stitches and in the round using the magic loop method. I have never ventured into using cable patterns and thought this was a good way to learn the technique. The magic loop method was one I had never heard of before- so I was surprised at how cleverly it uses the cable to allow you to work on small peices in the round. The lesson took place at one of my favourite places- Unwind Craft Cafe in Keilor East. I used the lovely cable needles I got for my birthday and some Bendigo Wool Mills milky way  (blend of wool and milk fibres). 


I was pretty pleased with how quickly this knitted up, and how nice the wool was to work with. The pattern is from ravelry- main street by tin can knits. 

Until next time, happy crafting 

Fiona T 

6 Comments

Filed under Crochet and other craft, Eye Candy, Patterns

6 responses to “Knitting with the magic loop method

  1. Barbara G

    What a fun way to learn the cable stitch. I’ve always loved the looks of the cable. I have used it on a sweater, but it’s been a while now. Such a pretty color you used also..

  2. Jenny Smits

    nicely done … now for some more interesting cables!!

  3. It’s always good to learn a new technique. I love that purple yarn.

Leave a Reply

