Vintage tatted collar

I have wanted to make a tatted collar for a while now, but didn’t really have anyone to give it to. Recently one of my blogging friends posted a photo of herself wearing a lace collar- so the time seemed right to offer to make one for her. I went through a few of my tatting books and sent pictures of three different collars. The chosen collar was a vintage pattern, Paragon learn to tat, petals collar on page eight. I chose a vibrant colour (Altin Basak size 50, colour 334) and set about tatting a little each day. It took a few weeks of chipping away, but I finished the collar last weekend. It has been posted and well received! 

As usual, I like to send a letter and a treat with a package. The parcel is below.

I’m pleased that I have been able to make this collar and that the colour looks so good, sometimes it’s hard to predict when many vintage patterns are pictured in white. It has also been nice to spread some crafty love to a person who does so much for others. 

I wonder when you have shared some crafty goodness? Feel free to share in the comments below.  

Until next time, happy tatting 

Fiona T 

8 Comments

Filed under Eye Candy

8 responses to “Vintage tatted collar

  1. Barbara G

    Very nice Fiona. There are a lot of things I would like to make, however I have a lot of tatted pieces just sitting in a box. I have come up with a couple of times now where I gave some away as gifts. A good feeling too. I love the knitted piece in the picture also.

    • Thanks Barbara. Sad they are in a box, lovely to share their beauty. They do make lovely gifts though! The knitted cowl is a fisherman’s wife scarf, I’ve been practicing my cable stitch with them. They knit up quickly, and have become my unwind project.

  2. Lovely collar! I like the vibrant colour.

  3. Hi, I really like your tatting. I came here because someone showed me you have made a vintage pattern that I have in a new Italian magazine that I don’t understand a part from it all

  4. Love the collar, love the crafty love! I’m making a set of bracelets for the girls and women in a family where I’ll be having a Christmas meal. I am totally guessing at their wrist sizes… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

