Merry Christmas 2016

Things have been a bit quiet on the blog for a few weeks as I have been busy finishing Christmas presents and studying too. The two gifts have now been given to their new owners so I can show you them now.

The first one was quite quick to make. I used Bendigo Wool Mills Cotton 10ply to make this in threes cardigan for my niece. 

The second one took a little longer as I hadn’t made a collar like this before. The vintage pattern is from a Coats learn tatting book no 660, and made is in Milford Mercerised cotton size 40, purple. I experimented with using crochet to attach the tatted collar as I went, and this required a little bit of retro-crocheting to make it sit properly and not pucker. The recipient loved it, and I hope she enjoys wearing it. I hope to blog soon about the process I used to make this collar.

Wishing all of you a wonderful holiday season. 

Until next time happy tatting, 

Fiona T  

4 Comments

Filed under Crochet and other craft, Eye Candy, Tatting Techniques

4 responses to “Merry Christmas 2016

  1. Barbara G

    As beautiful as always. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and all your family. May the new approaching year 2017 be a great year for all…

  2. Nice work !! And 3 different crafts together 🙂
    I love that edging – made it for a cushion cover & a necklace idea. But I didn’t know the exact book (had borrowed it from my friend millennia back!) and have been on the look out for the source.
    Compliments of the season 🙂

    • Thanks Muskaan, seasons greetings to you too. The edging is lovely, and works up much more quickly than the green collar I made earlier in the year. I might add it to a dress I have too- it is a very elegant edge without being to grand.

Leave a Reply

